The Auditors Division of the Finance office oversees city elections as they are required.

Elections for Mayor & City Council

The offices of mayor and City Council members are five-year terms on a staggered basis. Open seats are elected at the regular annual election in conjunction with the county and school district election, held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in June.

Special Elections

Special elections are held as necessary in conformance with South Dakota Codified Laws.

Upcoming Elections 

  • 2023    
    • City Council Member NE District for five-year term
    • City Council Member SW District for five-year term
  • 2024
    • Mayor for five-year term
    • City Council Member NW District for five-year term

Municipal Election Calendar

Download the 2023 Municipal Election Calendar to view upcoming election dates and deadlines for the municipal election.

Voting District Map  

View a map that identifies the four City Council districts

 Contact Us

If you have any questions, please contact the Finance Department at 605-626-7023.